People Are Who They Are!

The Bad Dream is Over

It really hit me today that I am going to work full time. I know it sounds silly probably, but I have been without hope for so long and I suddenly have it again. I actually spent time thinking about some of the things that I have wanted to buy for so long and realizing that I can actually buy them now. Nothing extravagant, just simple things like towels. Every time I do laundry I am disgusted with how terrible my towels look. They are clean but they are also very old and so ragged looking. To have a nice fresh new set of pretty colored towels would make me so happy you cannot imagine. I want to buy the girls a nice comforter set with matching sheets and pillow cases and a big stuffed animal to lay in the middle of it. Again, nothing extravagant, just fresh and new.

I have kind of been tip toeing around all of this as I have gone through the motions and today it finally felt real. I broke down and cried hard. It’s like I’m waking up from a very long bad dream. It finally feels safe to truly be excited.

14 responses

  1. From nightmares to daydreams – keep looking up.

    July 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    • That is exactly what it is like TB, and I am looking up!

      July 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  2. This makes me want to cry with happiness for you! 🙂

    July 15, 2011 at 5:37 am

  3. Understood.

    July 15, 2011 at 6:49 am

  4. That is so incredibly wonderful! I am so happy for you and hope that this is the beginning of great things for you and your family. 🙂

    July 15, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    • Thank you so much monsoon. I hope it will be too.

      July 15, 2011 at 3:32 pm

  5. I understand completely. I went through a period of a few years without a “real” job. Oh, I worked my ass off doing day jobs and yard work and stuff, but nothing steady. When I finally got the “real” job – and it lasted more than six months – it was an overwhelming feeling of relief.

    I did learn something during that time, though. If we really need or “want” something we get it, but I can also pinch a penny so hard that Lincoln screams.

    Good luck.

    July 15, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    • Thanks GOM. I can make Lincoln scream too! As hard as it’s been, I’ve learned so many lessons, or at least relearned them, about being thrifty that other than for things I really need and very few that I want, there won’t be much money spent in this house even though I will have it.

      July 15, 2011 at 3:35 pm

  6. I am so happy for you Lady. It’s going to be an exciting time for you.

    July 18, 2011 at 8:27 am

  7. That’s the best! I know how you feel. Been living at the edge even though I actually had a job. Still til today I am not sure how I managed to make things go round. So being able to go and buy the things you want/need, even standard necessities, give you such a nice feeling. Am so happy for you!

    July 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

  8. Belated, but congratulations. Nothing like employment to restore a sense of self-worth.

    July 22, 2011 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

