People Are Who They Are!

The Job!

Well, I have three days of training left to do and I will start my store next Monday.  This is really a hard job physically and the store I’m getting is going to be even more difficult because it has been let go. It’s going to require a major overhaul when I get there.

It’s going to be kind of fun to take over this store because it is so far behind. The girls that are supposed to be running it right now have been calling all of the other managers and the district manager complaining about each other. They don’t realize that they are the laughing stock of the district, actually a couple of different districts right now, because of all the complaining. The district manager just says that right now that store is a thorn in his side and he wants the calls to stop and the store fixed. I have a big job ahead of me.

I will take some pictures of it the first couple of days I’m there so I can show it to you. I will have to practically live there for the first few weeks. There is so much to running a retail store especially if it carries food. In the beginning it’s going to be like walking into a child care facility to straighten these girls out that are there. I have to have a staff that is on their toes in order to be successful and that will be the first task at hand.

I was an assistant manager at Dollar Tree for four years and the manager just kind of showed up every day, so I used to make task lists and post them every morning. The manager followed those lists just like everyone else did. It became a game of sorts to everyone to see who could accomplish the most tasks off of the list. We ended up turning a really bad store into one of the number one stores in the region there. So I am excited about the challenge.

They actually have a very structured training course set up and the manager that is training me is very good at it. I have done a little bit of everything in just a week and a half so I already feel pretty confident about the move to my store. Three more days!

7 responses

  1. Looks like you struck gold – all those trials produced a stronger, more confident you. Keep looking up.

    July 27, 2011 at 10:47 am

  2. You will be great! I just know you can do it, and shape that store up in no time!!

    July 27, 2011 at 11:10 am

  3. Best of luck! You’ll whip the place into shape in no time.

    July 27, 2011 at 11:44 am

  4. It sounds like you’ve definitely got your hands full there. I’m sure though that you will have things whipped into shape in no time. 🙂 I look forward to hearing about your adventures there.

    July 27, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  5. I am so excited for you! You sound like THE perfect person to do this job and get this store into shape!
    Many thoughts and best wishes for the upcoming weeks!

    July 27, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  6. good luck…you are the best-very smart and so it is very easy for you to make it 🙂

    August 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm

  7. By now I think you will have started – I hope you are getting everything ship-shape and enjoying it at the same time. Good Luck.

    August 6, 2011 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

