People Are Who They Are!

The Body Killer-My New Job!

Oh my God! My body aches in places I didn’t even know I had! I haven’t worked this hard in years and I am really feeling it. However, it’s a good hurt when that paycheck comes in.  It feels good to have a purpose again and the challenge of cleaning up a mess has been fun.

We’ve made great strides already. Everyone in the store is happy and likes me as a boss. One thing I learned in management training years ago is that people want to be told what to do and then be patted on the back for doing a good job when they are finished. It’s a very true statement. These folks were hungry for a boss to lead them and I have stepped in and taken over. I am a cheerleader type of boss. I ASK people to do things and then I make it a point to go back and see what they’ve done and let them know they did a good job. I’m also a trainer at heart so I’ve been able to teach them all a lot of stuff already. It’s really been fun in that respect.

On another note, the girls went back to their father. I am childless again. It’s a long drawn out story but when it was all said and done, they wanted their father. They missed him and they had started acting out a lot because of it. I am going to see the attorney this morning to get out of the custody thing so that I am no longer responsible for them. I had them for almost a year and nothing would really make them happy because all they really wanted all along was to be back with him. I just hope he does what he is supposed to do with them now.

I can’t stay long here because I’ve got to get to the attorney’s office and I have a long day at work. I thank you all for the well wishes and I miss getting to talk to you guys all the time, but I am definitely enjoying working. I guess you can’t have it all! Hopefully soon I will be able to handle working and blogging! lol

7 responses

  1. I am glad you are enjoying the job!
    Whatever the girls learned in their time with you, let’s hope they take it to heart. Those situations are so difficult no matter how hard you try. Now you can only hope for the best for them.
    And, you did a good thing taking them in.

    It’s got to be hard getting into the fulltime work thang again. But you sound like a wonderful boss, and just what that store needs! We all need good managers like you out there! Keep it up, enjoy yourself and those paychecks AND the peace and quiet! 😉
    Hugs!

    August 18, 2011 at 9:59 am

  2. I’m excited that your crew likes to be told what to do – eager to please. Sounds as if this job came just in time, keeping you busy so you can’t obsess with the issue with the girls. They may think they are tired of your rules, but kids do this. Don’t be surprised if they want to come back in a few months.

    Keep up the great job as a boss and your store will flourish. Thank God for all that you’ve been through as it made you stronger and produced good fruit. Blessings.

    August 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

  3. Hooray for you! Glad that it is all going so well. It sounds like they needed you just as much as you needed them. That is so great.

    How are you doing with the girls being gone? I hope it won’t be too hard of an adjustment there.

    August 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  4. I’m so glad you checked in – I’d been wondering how the job was going. I’m pleased to hear that it is going so well and I can imagine the smile that pay check brings to your face. I’m sure in time the girls will look back fondly on their time with you and want to come back. Teenagers can be contrary like that! 🙂

    August 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm

  5. Yeah … my boss thinks I like him too … lol

    I too was wondering how the job was going and how the job-and-the-kids was going, so I was glad to see this post.

    August 18, 2011 at 5:42 pm

  6. Finding muscles you never knew existed, eh? 🙂
    I’m with GOM, I was wondering how you were going to handle this job plus raising the girls.
    What was the reason they didn’t go to live with their father in the first place?

    August 18, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  7. I see there’s been a big change in your life. And I got to say I love your attitude for it, that all things happen for a reason. Maybe if only to show the girls a different life that they can strive for it themselves when living again with their father, and him maybe not being completely up to the job again. Glad to have your work to focus on and put your “teeth” into.

    August 20, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

