People Are Who They Are!

Winding Down

I am finally experiencing the feeling of winding down. Between the uproar of having the girls this past year and all the drama associated with their leaving, and starting the new job, I felt like I was spinning out of control for a time. I took yesterday off from work and am closing tonight so I don’t have to be in until 3:00 today. It’s given me some much needed time to wind down and I finally feel like I can breathe again.

I had a long talk with the girls father last night and I think I made him realize how much they need him to have it together and take care of them. As I said before, I believe everything happens for a reason and I believe this move was for the best for everyone involved. I told him that all of the acting out that they did here was for no other reason than because they missed him so much. Children need their parents no matter what. I’m praying that everything works out for them.

In the mean time, I’m settling back into my life. I landed on my feet after all this with a good full time job and my nice little home back to myself and I am happy. I missed my alone time. I need it to keep my sanity. I learned a lot going through this and I hope I never forget it all. God stopped us from being able to have children by a certain age for a reason. We just aren’t cut out for it after a while. We aren’t meant to be raising children in our 50’s.

 

8 responses

  1. After the whirlwind of kids/job/life-in-general that just suddenly descended on you and then (in the part of the kids) just as suddenly left, it’s good that you took a day to wind down. Too bad it couldn’t be several days, but that time is coming.

    And some of us (ME!) weren’t meant to raise kids in our 20’s! Now that I’m 50 the cats and my wife are about all I can stand …

    August 23, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    • lol GOM. I wish I could take a few days but then I sat here for two years before all this with nothing to do. I guess that’s why I thought I could take the kids. Life is just plain out strange sometimes with all it’s ups and downs. I don’t know if I’m coming or going half the time, I just know yesterday was the first time I could really sit down and take a deep breath. I needed it bad.

      You probably would have been a great dad cause I know you are a great dad to those kitties and I know you are probably a better husband to your wife than you let on to be here.

      August 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

  2. You are so right about not being meant to raise kids in our 50s. I am exhausted just spending a weekend with my nephew and nieces, and I love doing it!

    I do believe things happen for a reason, too. I hope the girls’ dad realizes how much they need him to be an adult and to be there for them.

    More deep breaths!

    August 23, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    • I think he realizes that he doesn’t have a choice in the matter at this point. They have exhausted everyone they have come into contact with the last few years so there isn’t anyone left but him.

      I am doing a lot of deep breathing now. lol

      August 24, 2011 at 1:45 am

  3. Freedom Smith

    I am so glad that you took a day off to unwind. You have been through a whirlwind year. I know it must have been very difficult, dealing with two girls who are acting out. I found out, the hard way, when we adopted the 18 year old. DISASTER. I am so happy about your job. Where are you working?

    August 23, 2011 at 7:00 pm

  4. I got a job at Dollar General as a store manager. I’m making good money and working my butt off but I love it. I got a store that was a mess ( I posted pictures of it my last post I think) and it has been a great challenge to clean it up and get it back into shape. I still have a long way to go but it has kept my mind off of everything else that is going on.

    August 24, 2011 at 1:49 am

  5. No matter how things turn out, hopefully for the so-much-better, you gave everyone a chance to focus on what is truly important, family. Kids need their parents, that sense of family. You deserve way more thanks and gratitude that you’ll probably get, you are a hero in my eyes. You stepped in and did what needed to be done and all for the exact right reasons, for the kids. And even when you were ready to pull your hair out and thinking about calling it quits, you didn’t.

    You even realized that it was time to step back and let their father step back in because it was for the best too. You are a marvel, don’t let anyone sell you short. Now, instead of working to better two girls lives, you are working hard on your next project, making your store over and a much better place to work. I have no doubt that you’ll succeed there as well, just remember to take a break now and again so you don’t get burned out. Simply awesome.

    August 25, 2011 at 1:37 am

  6. If anybody deserves a break at this stage, you do. I’ll bet you made a huge difference to those girls—maybe it’s evident now, maybe it will shine through later. Now enjoy a little peace. 🙂

    September 3, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Leave a Reply

