People Are Who They Are!

A Visit from the Boss!

My boss came to my store yesterday for the first time since he handed it over to me. He gave me a week’s notice that he was coming and my team was awesome and worked really hard to help me make some major improvements before he got there. He was actually wowed with the progress. I was so excited I thought I was going to cry! Seriously. I took some pictures the night before so you could see some of the differences. There is still a ton of work to be done to get the store caught up and running smoothly, but we have made some major improvements.

My boss is awesome. We walked the store and as we did, he would compliment the things we had done and give me pointers to help me along with the things that still need to be done. He helped me clean out some things that we didn’t need that were in my way and just really built me up in general. I felt so good when he left because he was so happy and so helpful.

I am so happy to be back working and doing something that feels good to do. I am getting a good physical workout every day and getting paid for it so I am already losing some of the weight I had gained over the last couple of years because of not working and being depressed. I also feel so much better mentally, not to mention financially. I’m just happy all the way around right now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 responses

  1. I am so happy for you! That is wonderful that the boss acknowledged all your hard work there. The store looks great!

    September 1, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    • Thanks monsoon. It was really nice to have a positive visit.

      September 2, 2011 at 10:26 am

  2. What a wonderful thing to have a boss that encourages and appreciates what you do! Things are looking great! 🙂

    September 1, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    • Thanks Lauri. Yes he is a great guy anyway and it really was a great feeling to feel appreciated.

      September 2, 2011 at 10:27 am

  3. Freedom Smith

    The store looks wonderful! I am thrilled to hear how happy you are and that your boss is supportive and praises you for a job well done. That seems a rare quality among bosses so I am glad you got a good one. I know it must feel great to be busy and to be enjoying what you are doing. Also, not to have the mental stress of the girls problems. *hugs*

    September 1, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    • Thanks Freedom and I so agree. It’s truly been years since I had a boss that I felt appreciated by. It really makes you want to work that much harder. I never understood why people in power didn’t understand that concept.

      September 2, 2011 at 10:28 am

  4. Who knows, you may be ready for the next step – A Super- center WalMart. Store looks spotless, working your self to the bone and it shows!

    September 1, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    • Thanks TB. No, there will never be a WalMart in my future. Actually one of the DG store managers left WalMart to come to work for us because he hated WalMart so bad. I don’t think I’ve ever talked to anyone that liked working for them.

      September 2, 2011 at 10:30 am

  5. Miss your comments and feedback, ma’am.

    I’m glad things are going for you right now– for me, well… it sucks! (And blows! At the same time!)

    September 1, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    • Awww thanks Jak. I miss being here. I’m hoping that as things progress I won’t have to put in so many hours.

      I’m sorry you are having problems. Email me if you need to, OK?

      September 2, 2011 at 10:31 am

  6. YAY!!! I’m SO happy for you. It looks fantastic. All those colorful products, all lined up neatly in rows like soldiers, just waiting for someone to walk by… “BUY ME!”

    September 1, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Thanks Kim. Great analogy with the soldiers. That’s a lot of what running a store like this is about is presentation. If it looks nice and inviting it is way more likely to sell faster.

      September 2, 2011 at 12:48 pm

  7. Wow! What a difference you’ve made to that store. It’s wonderful to read that you are doing so well there.

    September 3, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    • Thanks Aussie May! I’ve enjoyed it. I do feel much better since I started this job and since the kids are back with their dad. Things feel much more normal these days!

      September 4, 2011 at 1:00 am

  8. Wow! Seeing your posts on turning around this store—you’re a force of nature! 🙂 The place looks great!

    September 3, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    • Thanks phan. It’s been nice to have a challenge like this to work on. I like the immediate gratification of it. Nice to see you around!

      September 4, 2011 at 12:59 am

Leave a Reply

