People Are Who They Are!

Back to My Travel Photos

Last year, before the girls moved in, I had started doing posts with the pictures I had from when I traveled for a living. I still long for that time and so I decided to pull them back out and finish what I started.

Today we head to Little Rock, Arkansas and a day that I will always remember fondly. It was Mother’s Day, so Edith and I headed out to enjoy the day. The weather was gorgeous and Little Rock is a very clean and beautiful city.

Little Rock sits on the Arkansas River and is the birthplace of President Bill Clinton. There are reminders of that throughout the city, one of which is “President Clinton Ave.,” which was where we started our day. It was about 10:30 on a Sunday morning and we decided we would have brunch before we spent a lot of time walking around. We found a place called “Boscos” that was open and headed in. Boy oh boy! Were we happy immediately.

We seated ourselves at the bar and these guys greeted us. Alrighty then!

We started out by ordering a Bloody Mary and Eggs Benedict and a bartender. Oops, did I say that? Well, these guys were awesome, not only to look at, but they were very entertaining. The whole place was. The atmosphere was great and so we stayed….and stayed….and stayed.

These two jazz musicians kept the music going and were a joy to listen to.

This young man cooked some awesome food and was entertaining to watch as well.

They actually served beer to go in these bottles which really surprised me. I didn’t know that you could get beer to go from any bar anywhere and especially on Sunday. I just enjoyed watching him fill the bottles. Oh, did I say that too?

Since it was Mother’s Day, our bartender delivered long stemmed roses to each of the ladies at the bar. Did I mention how he delivered them? Oh my goodness!

Well, I just had to throw in one more photo of our bartender. I think this was taken after I paid the bill and added a tip that far exceeded the amount of the bill. Believe me when I say he earned every penny of it since he and his fellow bartender entertained us for about three hours. Oh, I was supposed to be showing you the city.

Located along the scenic south shore of the Arkansas River, is Little Rock’s River Market District. It spans the length of President Clinton Avenue and encompasses a 10-block area of the city. The Riverfest Ampitheatre is located here and with a spectacular view of the river, plays host to multiple events each year. Did I mention that it was in walking distance of Boscos?

We considered going for a ride in the horse drawn carriages, but at $60.00 an hour, we couldn’t afford it, especially after the huge tip I left at Boscos!

I did get to get up close enough to pet the horse and take some pictures though.

The Blue Line Trolley was well worth the ride. The driver was a very sweet tour guide and showed us all of the important places as it rolled through town. I can’t remember too much about the things she pointed out because of my extended stay at Boscos though.

A few photos I took walking down the street. It really is a pretty city.

There had been quite a bit of flooding that year so the river was way up above it’s normal level.

Well, that’s about it for Little Rock. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Boscos, I mean Little Rock. Very nice city with really nice bartenders, I mean people. lol If you ever get a chance, I would highly recommend a visit.

14 responses

  1. LOL! It does look like a beautiful bartender, I mean city!
    I laughed through the entire travelogue. Thanks for the tour!

    September 13, 2011 at 5:41 am

  2. Thanks Lauri, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had a good laugh remembering how much fun we had there that day. Those guys really were a lot of fun. They just understood that part of the job was entertainment and they kept us laughing the entire time we were there.

    September 13, 2011 at 9:43 am

  3. Freedom Smith

    What fun! From the pictures, alone, I can tell that the bartenders put on an awesome show of fun and merriment! I would have stayed for hours as well. The rose in the teeth was too funny. If I had a place, close by, I think I would go every day, just to lift my spirits (no pun intended). The city is beautiful! By far, though, I think Boscos looks like the most fun establishment there!! Good job on the pictures of the bartenders πŸ˜‰

    September 13, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    • Oh thanks Freedom. I’m really glad you enjoyed it. Listen, if I had a place like that close by with those guys or some like them to wait on me every day, I’d be an alcoholic, no doubt! lol

      September 14, 2011 at 1:10 am

  4. Great post! I used to go to a great bar like that. It was a micro-brewery, they only sold they they brewed there on site, and yes, they sold those little half-gallon bottles, filled straight from the tap. They did seal the lid somehow, so I think that’s what makes it legal.

    September 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    • Thanks Kim. I was really stunned by that. Georgia and Alabama both sell beer on Sundays in the bars, but not in the stores and definitely nothing to go, unless of course you know the local bootlegger! lol

      September 14, 2011 at 1:12 am

      • That just kills me. I’m glad I don’t have to think about that!

        September 14, 2011 at 2:21 pm

  5. What a great city with great bartenders, I mean restaurants and history. Yeah, that’s what I meant. Really. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the tour. It does really look like a lovely place.

    September 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    • It really is a great city monsoon. We did actually spend the rest of the day walking around and the trolley ride was great. I just had to get over the buzz I got at Boscos first. lol We were in Little Rock for several weeks so we saw a lot of the city. This was just by far the most enjoyable day there. lol

      September 14, 2011 at 1:15 am

  6. And these guys weren’t even Chippendales – you big tipper, you. Glad you had so much fun and thanks for taking us along.

    September 13, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • No they weren’t Chippendales. They were better because they had great personalities. They were funny and cute and just totally entertaining. I’ve always been a good tipper because I’ve worked jobs where tips were the income, but these guys earned every penny I gave them that day.

      I love your new profile photo.

      September 14, 2011 at 1:18 am

  7. All smiles here. Couldn’t have asked for a better travelogue. LOL. Spectacular. So glad you had a terrific time too. It’s the times like those that help you get through the hard times.

    September 14, 2011 at 1:05 am

    • You are so right K. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I have had my share of bad times, but I have definitely had my share of good times too!

      September 14, 2011 at 1:19 am

  8. love all this shots πŸ™‚

    September 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

