People Are Who They Are!

Frustrated!

In my store, I am the store manager, I have an assistant manager and then the third manager is called the third key holder. Aside from that I have five cashiers. My third key has been calling out almost once a week since I’ve been there which has really left me in a mess because it has caused me to work a double almost every week not to mention keeping me from getting the store caught up. Well, after staying out two days and then being a no call no show on Sunday, she called in Monday and quit. Great! It was bad enough that she called out all the time, now she just quits without notice. Doesn’t anyone have any kind of pride or respect for a job anymore? I really have a difficult time with stuff like this.

So, I have a brand new man in there I’m trying to train quick because I won’t get a day off until he is in place. And I’m hoping that being a man, he will be able to get enough done to help me get caught up. I’m nervous about it though because I’ve already figured out that he has OCD. He wants to do everything to such a state of perfectionism that it takes him all day to do anything. I already want to scream because I’m frustrated and tired.

Yes, I know that all of this is part of the job. I just want to get caught up and get on track here. I’m slowly but surely getting there, but I know my boss is starting to get impatient. There are still so many things that I’m not getting done and I don’t like being “that manager” that is always behind. Blahhhh!

15 responses

  1. What I love is when people just quit like that … and then want a reference for their next job! (Although I’m assuming she already had another job … or is a complete idiot).

    Yeah, I’m one of those “Just get it DONE! It doesn’t have to be perfect! We can always come back and tweak it if we have to” type of people …

    September 20, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • She’s an idiot. She’s young and has a husband that makes good money so she doesn’t really have to work. Worse women in the world to hire because they will quit over anything. She also has a lot of health problems.

      I struggled with perfectionism and OCD a lot in my younger years which is why I recognized the symptoms easily. I learned to control it though because you don’t get anything done otherwise. I’m like you now, just get it done. I have a thousand different things that need to be done in any given day.

      September 20, 2011 at 11:57 pm

  2. Find someone else – with unemployment so high, even among college grads, there must be a qualified person. Don’t assume because the person you hire is male, that he will be up to your speed soon enough. Is this new hire on any meds for his disorder? Is that info asked for on employment applications?

    Have been where you are, hope you get this resolved and get some rest, soon.

    September 20, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    • Trust me honey, I’ve learned not to assume anything. The problem is, once you hire someone it is very difficult to get rid of them. You can’t just say, oh well, I don’t like you and move on to the next person. Law suits have made employing people very difficult.

      As far as the OCD goes, that’s my own assessment of him, not a diagnosis he has gone and gotten. I ask him jokingly if he had OCD and he didn’t even know what it was.

      September 21, 2011 at 12:00 am

  3. If it’s a minimum-wage job, with no benefits or future, don’t expect them to give notice. Sorry.

    September 20, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    • It’s not a minimum wage job and it does have benefits. She was full time so she had insurance that she needed because she is a diabetic and we have 401K and so on. Her husband works for himself so she needed her job. She’s a very impulsive personality though so I wasn’t shocked that she quit like that, just extremely disappointed.

      September 21, 2011 at 12:03 am

      • Wow, then I am surprised, too. It’s hard to be impulsive and keep a job for long.

        September 21, 2011 at 12:05 am

      • Oh, you’re awake! I never have anyone to talk to this late. She didn’t keep the job long. She had only been there about five months. She was a great worker when she was there, but she always wanted to change her schedule or called in at least once a week. Not good when there are only three of you to run the place. One of us has to be there as long as the store is open.

        September 21, 2011 at 12:12 am

  4. Once again, it’s about personal responsibility and pride in what you do – regardless of the work. As a Christians, we are to “do all things as unto the Lord.” Of course there’s the Golden Rule – integrity and on and on.
    Wish you the best, keep your head up and know that you are doing your very best.

    September 20, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    • Thanks TB and I agree with you. It is about personal responsibility and pride in what you do. I’ve never just quit a job like that where people depended on me to be there. She knew that it would leave me in a terrible bind.

      September 21, 2011 at 12:04 am

  5. Sorry to hear that you have been working with no day off. Is it possible that the manager that you hired maybe just wants to show you that he is capable of doing the job and is overcompensating? Just a thought. I hope he will be up to speed soon so that you can get some time off.

    September 21, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  6. Hmmm… I am tempted to say “this is par for the course, for retail.”

    But this was before I read that this is someone FT with benefits. I have lots of health problems, too, but… well, I don’t know. I’m up to my neck as it is just on disability. Ask me for the password if there are posts you can’t see because… don’t want to explain it here.

    September 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

  7. I like working with men, they are less complicated. I hope you are wrong about the OCD.

    September 23, 2011 at 5:27 am

  8. Just dropped by .. looks like September is your last posting.. what’s up..hope all is well with you and yours! I’ll check back soon.
    Tony sends his regards.. Peace CC

    November 21, 2011 at 9:48 am

    • You’re right, where has this dynamo gone? Maybe just too busy with the new job and all the responsibilities. Let’s hope so.

      November 21, 2011 at 10:40 am

Leave a Reply

