People Are Who They Are!

I’m Soooo Tired!

I have been working almost non stop for three weeks now. There aren’t enough hours in the day to do all the things that I need to do and I don’t have enough employees to do them all. It’s crazy!

I’m trying to hire some more people but you truly have to jump through hoops to hire someone to work in a dollar store. No wonder half of the country is unemployed. I can’t just hand out an application and let someone take it home and fill it out. They have to fill it out in the store and when they are done I have to pull the computer table out of the office and sit them down and have them take a DBA, which is a Desired Behavior Analysis. About a quarter of the people that take that test do not have the “desired behavior” to work at the dollar store. Really? Then they run a back ground check on everyone that works there and another quarter get lost on that one. Then half the people that can pass all of that don’t want the job because it’s minimum wage and I can’t offer them more than 12 or 15 hours a week and not always that much, depending on the position.

Over the last three weeks one of my assistant managers quit without notice (I think I told you about that), then one of my lead cashiers broke her ankle (I may have told you about that too), and then I fired my shithead cashier (that I wanted to get rid of anyway). That knocked out three of the eight people I had working there. With almost half of the staff gone I am getting further and further behind so I’m choosing my battles. There are a million little detail things that it would be nice to have done and Corporate insists be done every day because they are important to them, but I’m doing what is important to me and leaving the rest. What’s important to me is to put merchandise on the shelves so people have something to buy. Apparently, my way works because I was number one in sales in the district on Thursday last week and number two in the district in sales for the week last week. Ha! I love that.

So, even though I am exhausted and feel like I’m driving a sinking ship some days I must be doing something right to do that with half a staff of people. Oh yeah, and for the hours I’m putting in, I’m probably doing it for about $5.00 an hour. I don’t let anyone complain about what they make because I assure them that even at minimum wage they are making more than I am right now! lol

Anyway, hopefully by the end of the week I will have two new people in place and can start training them. That means it will still be a couple of more weeks before I can actually get any kind of production out of them and definitely that long before I can actually take a whole day off work.

I really miss you guys!

16 responses

  1. Wow. Leading the one woman selling crew! One thing I’ve found out about corporate standards and such is that they are usually designed by someone barely familiar with the day to day operations. Otherwise, why the heck would they have you doing some of the stuff they ask for? I can understand legal items, safety items, but procedural stuff that goes contrary to what you are trying to accomplish? Nah, just bureaucracy at it’s finest in most cases. I’m really proud that you’ve taken it over as “your” store. It certainly makes the hard tasks a bit more palatable if you take that stance. Not many people willing to take ownership of their jobs anymore. Especially the younger generations. Listen to me, I sound like an old man. Well, guess I sort of am. LOL. I know your hours are long and tough, but you should be really proud for taking that mess of a store and in a couple of months, have it turned around reaching number one and two sales positions. In the district no less! (((HUGS))) It’ll get easier, especially if you have a part in the hiring process. You’ll get some good people working with you and then you’ll be hitting the number one sales spot every week. I just know you will.

    October 4, 2011 at 1:05 am

    • Awwww thanks K. You are such a wise old man! lol We are getting old whether we like it or not and in all honesty, I’d rather be old and wise than young and dumb any day. Thanks for the pep talk, I needed it. My district manager and regional manager have neither one ever run a store so they are big on the corporate stuff and forget all about the main thing and that is to get the product on the floor.

      Once I get some people in there that I hired myself and get them trained I will be fine. It’s just really been rough these last three weeks because I am so tired. I’ll make it though. I’ve always been a fighter.

      October 5, 2011 at 9:39 am

  2. Oh man, I am sorry that you are getting so slammed. And yeah….corporate details and paperwork and let’s face it…throwing everything in your way to make simply getting the actual WORK done…it’s the way companies operate these days. It’s so exhausting and frustrating.

    Hang in there and keep selling stuff…..that IS the whole idea…even if corporate doesn’t have a clue. Geez, I hope you can find some good people to hire, too. *crosses fingers*

    October 4, 2011 at 5:37 am

    • Thanks Lauri, me too. That’s the hardest part of the job it seems, is finding good people to work.

      October 5, 2011 at 9:40 am

  3. Whew! I’m glad I didn’t have to take a Deviant Behavior Analysis (or whatever) because I wouldn’t have passed it! lol

    What’s the deal with not letting people take the applications home? Afraid they won’t bring them back? Seems that just makes it more difficult for you to actually get any work done.

    October 4, 2011 at 11:32 am

    • If they took the app home, they would make sure to spell everything correctly or have someone else fill it out. What’s normal today anyway? If you’ve watched Criminal Minds you know people can hide their intent and identity. What a conundrum.

      October 4, 2011 at 11:48 am

      • After reading some of them, I wish they could take them home and have someone help them. There are a lot of truly uneducated people out there. I could do a hilarious post on just some of the stuff they put on these applications. I might do that one day when I slow down to somewhat of a normal pace.

        October 5, 2011 at 9:46 am

    • Deviant Behavior! lmao! You are too funny GOM. I have no idea why I can’t let them just go home and fill out the stupid thing. It’s ridiculous. And I have to administer the DBA immediately too, so it’s a big ordeal and big waste of my time. It does make it very difficult to get my work done.

      October 5, 2011 at 9:44 am

  4. We miss you too, but hang in there, you are building towards a better future.

    October 6, 2011 at 3:03 am

  5. Um, me too.

    If I wasn’t so over-tired and overwhelmed, maybe I’d be a bit more articulate, more lucid, and praise the good that you are doing. Or maybe I just did.

    I am glad you have support, just by the comments here. *sigh* So pathetic, but I will say it… I wish my supporters were this vocal.

    October 7, 2011 at 12:29 am

    • Sorry you aren’t getting the support you need jak. I’ve been too busy myself to keep up with everyone.

      October 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

  6. GAH – sorry that it’s all so hard for you. Lots of dross to sort through, but I’m sure you’ll work your way towards landing some golden employees eventually. Heck, with the amount I’m disliking my job right now, I’d come and work for you if it didn’t mean abandoning the mountains I love. 😛

    October 10, 2011 at 9:35 am

    • We have mountains here!

      October 10, 2011 at 10:05 am

  7. Wow, you are really busting your butt there. That is amazing that you are doing it all with the half the staff that you should have. I hope that some good people come your way. It seems strange that in this economy that folks aren’t trying to bust down the door looking for work.

    October 11, 2011 at 7:02 pm

  8. Hang in there! Sounds like you are super busy. Glad your sales are so successful!

    December 1, 2011 at 1:04 am

  9. louiseinskottorp

    How is it going? Hope you are still on your feet and well.

    December 1, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

