People Are Who They Are!

Whoa!

Wow, the site has changed. I didn’t even realize it was before Christmas since my last post! I missed you guys.

I stepped down from the store manager position. It ended up being a very good move for me because I am now at a store that is three minutes from the house, I’m a cashier/assistant manager and I work part time instead of sixty hours a week. I feel one hundred percent better. It took me a couple of months to recuperate from the previous position though. Golly! It was ridiculous. The lady that replaced me at my old store has already quit after only two months, so I don’t feel so bad. I know it wasn’t just my own weakness.

It was very frustrating though because I have always excelled at any job I’ve ever had and to fail miserably at this point in my life really bothered me. What I learned was that as you age you have to accept the changes in your mind and body that go along with the aging process. You are weaker whether you want to admit it or not.

My neighbor Donna and I have since discovered that we have a mutual love for art and creativity and have started accumulating craft supplies. Donna used to make a lot of different stuff and go to arts and craft shows and sell it all. She did really well with it and made enough money several years ago to buy a convenience store. She ran the store for several years until it wore her out because of the long hours. She sold it a couple of years ago. She is setting us up a studio to make stuff in and we are going to start doing the shows together. It’s really been a lot of fun already and very exciting.

I’ve been making jewelry mostly, but have done a few other things as well. Donna has the equipment and supplies already to do all sorts of different stuff. With the economy like it is, we are focusing in on making inexpensive items that people can afford. Most of the jewelry I’ve made so far is like bracelets and earrings that will sell for around $10 at most and children’s bracelets that will sell for $5. They are quick and easy to make and really cute. I’ll try to take some pictures next week and post them.

I also made a bunch of refrigerator magnets out of wood that are really pretty and those evolved into trinket boxes. (You’ll have to see them both when I take pictures to know what I mean by that.) This is one picture that I do have of one of the boxes I did. It looks better than the picture shows.

Image

Anyway, right now, we are making stuff like crazy and building up our inventory. We probably won’t do the first show until close to the end of summer because there is no sense in going and setting up unless you have enough to stuff to sell to make it worth your time. All I can tell you is that it is so much fun and it makes me happy.

Life is good for me right now. I feel like I’ve settled into a decent routine and am financially self sufficient which is a good feeling. I love my job now and definitely love making pretty things. I’m healthy and happy. What more could you ask for!

2 responses

  1. So happy to hear you’re in a good place right now!! isn’t it great! I had my eye on the same bracelet you liked for yourself.. of course you should keep it 🙂 You go Girl…CC

    June 22, 2012 at 9:00 am

    • Hey CC! How are you doing? I am in a good place finally. Just a good balance of things going on. Glad you liked the bracelet. I just keep on making them. It’s a good way to occupy my time.

      June 22, 2012 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

