People Are Who They Are!

An Old Friend

I was just reading a post by GOM and it reminded me about something that I found out a month or so ago. I was going to pick up my daughter and bring her out here to my house for the week. I used to live in Georgia where she lives and I have quite a few friends out there still.

On the way there, I was going to meet my ex for lunch (we’re still good friends)  and I was running late. It’s a long way from where I live in Alabama to where I was going in Georgia. So  while he (Frank, my ex) was waiting for me, he went by to see an old friend of ours named Scott. Frank used to work for Scott and he was our next door neighbor for a couple of years as well. Scott and his wife Julie were a really sweet happy couple in their early forties. Scott ran a very successful construction business doing insurance repairs on houses. Julie was a stay at home soccer mom with two beautiful teen aged children.

When Frank walked into Scott’s construction company and asked for Scott that day, everyone looked at him kind of strange. Frank is a very happy go lucky personality so he just stood there for a minute puzzled. “Where is he?” he asked.

The receptionist buzzed Scott’s business partner, Mike, who promptly came out and took Frank back to his office. “You haven’t heard about Scott?” Mike asked.

“No, what happened?” Frank replied. Frank and I really hadn’t seen Scott or anyone else we knew then in about three years.

Apparently not long after we saw him the last time, Scott fell off of a ladder and hurt his back. The doctor put him on pain medication for it and he spent the next year severely addicted to the pain pills. His wife Julie said he was depressed and suffered with mood swings and wouldn’t go back to work even though his back had gotten better. She tried to get him to get help but he wouldn’t. He got up one morning in “a mood” and got out in the back yard shooting off guns. They lived in a very nice subdivision and of course it didn’t take but a couple of shots being fired off before someone called the police. The swat team responded and apparently Scott was so out of it, he fired a shot at the police officers and they shot and killed him.

Now, in a big city full of thugs this would not be a big deal story. But this wasn’t a big city and it wasn’t a bunch of drug dealing thugs. This was a soccer family, literally. This was a great guy. He was totally dedicated to his family, his job, just his life in general. He was highly successful and had been very smart with his money. He was a happy man. I was just dumbfounded by this whole story. There are so many questions I could ask.

I grew up in Atlanta and gradually moved further and further out to the country over the years. The more people that are around you, the more chance you have of dealing with someone else’s trauma and drama all the time. Living in a small town and staying rather isolated like I do now, I don’t deal with stuff like this much any more. It’s painful when you actually know the people.

Incidences like this really scare me though. When someone can go from being a happy well adjusted successful husband and father to being a gun wielding drug crazed maniac shooting at the swat team in a year’s time, well that’s just scary. I was glad to get back home to my isolated little slice of paradise.

 

 

 

7 responses

  1. Stuff like this is sad. I’ve been prescribed pain meds before, and they always mess up my GI system so I take very few of them. But I have a high pain tolerance, and aspirin is usually enough.

    I hope his wife and daughters are okay.

    June 2, 2012 at 10:53 am

  2. I have a high tolerance for pain and don’t ever take anything either GOM. I’ve seen so many people get messed up on prescription drugs and I don’t mean just getting addicted to them. I’ve got a sister in law that takes about sixteen different pills every day just for different ailments. She started out with one thing and every time she goes back they put her on something else and she just has the mind set that whatever that doctor says goes. She’s gained weight because she doesn’t have any energy to do anything because of all the medications and now she has diabetes to go along with all the rest of her problems and the pills are the cause of most of it in the first place. I’ve tried to talk to her about it all but it doesn’t matter what you say because the “doctor knows best.” I just don’t get the doctors more than anything. How could this guys doctor let him stay on an addictive medication for that long. I get very frustrated thinking about it all.

    I don’t know how his wife and children are. I know his daughter had his first grandchild a year or so after he died. That’s all I heard about them other than his wife is still living in the house where he was shot. I don’t think I could do that. I didn’t go look her up after I heard this because it’s been about two years since it happened. Like I said, it’s been three or four years since we’ve seen them. People move away and you loose touch.

    June 2, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    • I don’t think I’d want to live there either. A lot of bad memories.

      June 2, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  3. In case of your friend I would say the doctors have failed him. If they describe pain killers that heavy, they need to follow up and adjust to make sure that the person doesn’t get addicted. A friend of mine admitted once that she was addicted to the pain killers that were given to her for her back and getting off them took quite an effort.

    When it comes to sister in law – not that I know what kind of ailments she has, but if she is in that evil circle where one prescription leads to another, I would go radically over to my fathers attitude: you can cure /heal about everything just by the way you eat. He got rid of a lung disease that way, which in the long run – if he also would have continued smoking, could have costs his life.

    June 5, 2012 at 11:12 am

    • I agree with you on all of it Irony. I really love hearing that father cured his lung cancer with his diet. I try to tell people all the time that eating habits are the fix or failure for a lot of things about us.

      I’m really glad to hear from you. How have you been?

      June 5, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      • To some it up: bored. I hope I manage to come around posting something about the recent weeks/months soon. I’ve been trying all weekend – but somehow time passed with other things.

        June 12, 2012 at 7:42 am

  4. A good argument for not having guns.

    June 23, 2012 at 4:51 am

Leave a Reply

