People Are Who They Are!

A New Rescue

I know I took a long break from here and so you may not remember much about my neighbor Donna. She rescues animals and her little farm grows and changes often. I think the count on the dogs is at about twenty and I say about because the many dogs that actually belong to our other neighbor spend more time at her house than they do at home. It’s kind of like the neighborhood hang out for animals. She feeds them all, makes sure they have their worm medicine and flea and tick killers and so forth. She doctors and takes care of all of them. She also has six cats, several goats, turkeys, chickens, a pig, and now she has a horse. Yes a horse.

Now, I like all of the animals up there. They are sweet, they all have their own personalities and you can’t help but love them, but I’m not a big animal person, so I go up and pet them and whatever, but I can take ’em or leave ’em. The horse though, has my attention. Now I am excited. Truly excited. I have always been awed by horses. To me, they are amazing animals.

This one is named “Lightning” and he is huge. He had been left in a field unattended for a long time. He had gotten out of the pen and whoever had him had beat him with a whip. He has also been malnourished and has some sort of skin irritation right now. But even after all of that, he is really a sweet boy. He loves to be petted and talked to and he will lay his head on your shoulder as if to hug you. So sweet.  Donna can make such a difference in an animal that it’s really something to watch and I have had the opportunity to watch her with a couple of animals since she’s been here. The horse is a totally new venture though because it’s not her normal rescue. Her father had horses when she was a child and she was thrown from one and almost killed so she has a big fear of them. She prefers tending to the goats (like her father who has over 400 at any given time) and she has a sister who has horses and doesn’t care for the goats. So, she has been talking to her sister about what to do for the horse. I think it is so awesome.

Anyway, this is Lightning. He is a descendant of derby race horses but you would never know it from the condition he is in now. He has beautiful gold shimmering color on him that you will be able to see better when he’s healthy again. He is already eating like crazy and Donna feeds him good, really good. I will keep you up to date as he progresses. Right now I’ve got to go up and see him this morning!

Lightning

5 responses

  1. I’m so glad Lightning is at Donna’s now! I can’t wait to see more pics as he gets healthier!

    June 7, 2012 at 9:18 am

  2. What a great thing to be able to do. Here’s hoping Lightning continues to improve.

    June 7, 2012 at 11:21 am

  3. Awww, thanks Steve. He will improve. He’s in great hands now.

    June 7, 2012 at 11:32 am

  4. Donna sounds a lot like the Middle Daughter. She is always taking in new strays and finding homes for them. She has a new cat, dog, rabbit or rodent every time we visit them. Sounds like Donna’s heart is bigger than the pasture.

    June 7, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  5. That’s a great description of her K. I tell her all the time that there is a very big, very special place waiting for her in heaven.

    June 7, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

