People Are Who They Are!

Down on Donna’s Farm

I love posting pictures from Donna’s farm so here’s a few new ones.  This big boy is Black Sabbath. She has had him for quite a few years. She has two turkey pens set up now but even they are temporary. She is building a big fenced in area that will have a big nice building in it for them. She also has acquired several chickens and she put them in with the turkeys. The male (Black Sabbath) and the female took them in right away like they were the parents. It was really amazing to watch. Of course she has dogs that tend to baby kittens and cats that tend to tiny puppies, so I wasn’t totally surprised. The chickens are black and I don’t guess I’ve ever seen a black chicken. They are kind of cool looking.

These are the chickens. It’s not uncommon to see Black Sabbath up on the roosting pole with them. The pen is situated in a spot that I can see it from where I sit in my house when I’m on the computer so I watch them a lot.

 

Of course there are always plenty of goats around for entertainment. Donna has sold a lot of the big goats and is gradually changing the herd over to the smaller pygmy goats. They are adorable. You can see in this first picture how much smaller they are than the bigger ones, but then her big goats are much bigger than most normal goats anyway because she feeds them so good.

I took these pictures a couple of days ago and half of the goats were fighting, which I’ve never seen before. I asked her what was going on and she said “someone” out there was in heat so they were fighting. Typical males. lol The little pygmy goat holds his own against the bigger males too. I didn’t capture it but at one point the little guy stood up on his hind legs and went after the bigger one.

 

This is one of the cats keeping an eye on the place. I used to feel bad every time I walked up there because all of the dogs would start barking. Now I am probably the only person in the world that can walk up without getting barked at, of course, I have to beware of the cat on duty! lol

Well, that’s part of the animals. One of the cats had kittens a couple of days ago and I will try to get some pictures this weekend. They are so cute!

9 responses

  1. The goats are SO cute and funny. Their eyes are weird-looking, with those sideways-slanting pupils.
    I LOVE the pygmies. Did you see this one:
    http://kimkiminy.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/baby-goats-in-sweaters/

    June 8, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    • Those are adorable! Their eyes are weird aren’t they. I like the pygmies better too. The two small ones have already had a baby a couple of months ago and it was really cute.

      June 9, 2012 at 8:47 am

  2. Love the pictures! Donna (and you!) are living in Heaven, I do believe. 🙂

    June 9, 2012 at 7:59 am

    • Oh this is definitely a little slice of heaven here. If I’m ever having a bad day, all I have to do is walk up there and interact with the animals for a little while and I feel better quick. They are all very loving because they are taken care of so well and they can make you feel better fast. Very therapeutic. So glad you enjoyed the pictures Lauri.

      June 9, 2012 at 8:52 am

  3. Wow, did those bring back memories of growing up on the farm. All that and then some. We stopped at goats as far as teh biggest animal.

    June 15, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  4. Hope they were happy memories! It’s happy here for sure. I love having her for a neighbor and all of the animals.

    June 16, 2012 at 3:16 am

  5. Enjoyed the pics..sounds like an amazing lady! Glad to see you’re back to posting more often. CC

    June 18, 2012 at 10:25 am

  6. love this shots-how cute this animals are….we have here no farm but a zoo, but this is not the same.

    June 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm

  7. Thanks Kirsten! I’m glad you like them. Farms are very different than the zoo because YOU have to take care of the animals yourself. Lots of work!

    June 18, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

