People Are Who They Are!

Aside

Ant City

I always get nervous when everything seems to be going to good because inevitably something will go wrong. It did, night before last. My brother hired his son to come out and build some shelves in the shed so that we could get all of the stuff in there organized. There is lots of stuff in there too, believe me. So I’ve been working diligently to get everything cleaned up out there. One of the last things I did the other night before I came in was brought a piece of plywood in out of the yard and then closed everything up and came in the house. For the next hour or so I noticed I had this feeling that you get when you feel allergic to something. It was slight, but I gradually started kind of itching and getting the chills and I thought man, what is going on.

I went in the bathroom and ripped my shirt off and to my horror, found my entire torso covered in big whelps. I started freaking out trying to figure out what in the world happened. It looked like something had crawled all over me and bitten me but I never had felt a bite or felt anything crawl on me. I got in the shower and cooled my skin down, took a Benadryl and then got the flashlight and went back outside looking. I knew the only thing that I did odd was to bring the piece of plywood in. It had only been out there a day or so, but when I went to look at the spot where it had been laying, there was little tiny ants all around. I had apparently gotten a few of them on my clothes when I picked up the piece of wood and they had been able to crawl all over and bite me without me even knowing it.

I have lived around these ants all of my life. They are tiny tiny things that I just never would have dreamed have enough poison in them to do what they did, but I’m telling you, they put the hurt on me. My skin whelped up so bad that the whelps would run into each other and turn into fist size places. And I could literally feel the poison running through me. It was bad enough I had to go to the doctor on the second day because it wasn’t going away and I was getting worried it was something else. A steroid shot and another Benadryl seemed to do the trick though, thank goodness! So I had to miss work for two days and waste the day laying around groggy because of the Benadryl. This morning it is over and I am so grateful.

This is a picture of the side of my leg I took yesterday at the doctors office. My entire torso was broke out like this and I was miserable! Hooray for medicine! I’m so glad it’s over today.

17 responses

  1. H-o-l-y c-o-w!!! That looks terrifying. The last time my skin looked like this was after eating strawberries that had been treated with pesticides, which hadn’t come off with one wash.
    I find it amazing though that you didn’t feel the bites. I remember a bite from an ant that I got as a kid, and it hurt enormously. My mother was scolding me thinking I was overreacting. But at some point had to realize that I didn’t 😆
    Glad though that you are okay now!!

    June 22, 2012 at 10:49 am

  2. That was just one spot on one leg. My whole chest (including the girls) and my stomach and back were like this. The worst spot on me was around my waist band as it was almost one solid whelp. Today, the whelps are gone and I am left with like little light bruises every where the whelps were. It was scary though.

    I have been bitten by big ants as well and they do hurt like fire. I was stunned myself that I didn’t feel the actual bites and still am not totally positive that it was the ants because I never saw them on me or actually felt the bite. But because of the timing and what I was doing it was the only thing that made sense. I’m just glad it’s over!

    June 22, 2012 at 11:34 am

  3. Geez! It does seem you’d have felt something, but – then again – tiny little ants biting you might not be noticeable. Or it could have just been one or two and you had an allergic reaction to the venom. Or you’re allergic to your nephew …

    Whatever, glad yo hear they cleared up.

    June 22, 2012 at 1:01 pm

  4. Yeah, I thought I should have felt something too GOM. Because I didn’t I kept looking for something else that it could have been and there just wasn’t anything. I do believe I had an allergic reaction to the venom, and you are right, it could have been only a couple of bites that caused the reaction. I don’t know. I was really puzzled about the whole thing myself. I’m sure it was the ants though because the worst of the whelps were around the waistband of my jeans and that’s where they would have gotten because of the way I had the wood against me. I’m glad they cleared up too, believe me. That was two extremely miserable days out of my life! lol

    June 22, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  5. Oh, OW, that is HORRIBLE!
    I am so so glad that the benadryl and the steroid shot helped! It gives me the shivers just thinking about your body reacting to these bites!!!

    June 22, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  6. Thanks Lauri, I’m still real skiddish now about every thing. I don’t want to get outside at all, afraid something will bite me again. lol The only time I have ever had a reaction to anything like this was years ago when I tried Alleve for the first time. I was highly allergic to it and had the big huge whelps all over like this. It’s just scary because you don’t know how bad the reaction to something is going to be.

    June 22, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  7. Yikes! Thank goodness for benadryl.

    June 23, 2012 at 12:26 am

    • Thanks Kim and yes thank goodness for Benadryl!

      June 23, 2012 at 9:23 am

  8. I am sorry that you had to suffer, but no day is wasted lying around. It is my favourite pastime.

    June 23, 2012 at 4:49 am

  9. Oh so true FD. lol You are too funny!

    June 23, 2012 at 9:24 am

  10. Whenever I pick up a piece of wood around here I’m bound to get a cenitpede or two crawling down my arm. It’s nothing like what happened to you but they’re fast moving and they bite. The FDA has just approved a DEET alternative, I can’t remember if it’s eucalyptus or citronella. But I think one or the other may be an ant deterrent. We use All Terrain with both ingredients and I found on our long summer hikes it works even better than DEET.

    June 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  11. Something has to work. I didn’t have anything on because I wasn’t expecting anything to happen. Bugs are just going to be terrible around here this year anyway because we had no winter here at all.

    June 23, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  12. Oh yuck, glad you got this resolved. As for feeling the bites – there are tiny gnats in CT and when they’d bite me I’d not feel them, but the next few days I’d be covered in hives in every spot they bit me! Eugh.

    June 27, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  13. We do also have the gnats and I’ve heard people say that they have been bitten by them too. I’ve always been an outdoors person and I’ve never had any problems with bites of any kind. I was really amazed by this whole experience because I know I’ve been bitten by so many bugs so many times before and now all of a sudden I’m allergic to something? It was creepy!

    June 27, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  14. Your story really bugs me.

    This is just one more piece of evidence in my large collection of why I shouldn’t ever do any type of labor, especially outside.

    Hell, even just SITTING in the damn grass in Iowa can give you chiggers in places that bugs should NEVER reach. Take my foopa, for instance. Really happened.

    Just stay inside, Facebook, eat bacon and blog all day. Best solution to all things in life.

    Yours in scratchiness-
    Emily

    June 28, 2012 at 3:25 pm

  15. You are too funny. I’ve been an outdoorsy person all of my life until the last couple of years. The heat gets to me too bad anymore and living alone, I’m afraid I’ll pass out or something and no one will be around to rescue me so I do spend a lot of my time sitting indoors and blogging and such. Hate Facebook though. I made the mistake of letting people find me there that I had worked hard to get away from so I stopped interacting there. Silly me! It’s like a door to a room that I peek into every so often and see who’s there and slam it shut again.

    I’ve been bitten by more bugs than I can count and that’s why this was really freaky. I have no idea why I would suddenly be so allergic to something. Oh, and I’ve had chiggers. Not in “those” place, thank the Lord, but I’ve had them and they are horrible!

    June 29, 2012 at 2:52 am

  16. Yikes!

    July 1, 2012 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

