People Are Who They Are!

Big Plans

I had big plans for my day off today. My yard looks like no one has lived here in months because the grass is getting so tall. I’ve not touched the shed project since the mayhem with the ants so there are still quite a few things out in the yard that need to go back in the shed. My front porch is full of stuff that I took out of the shed and intended to bring in the house or use on the porch but it is just piled there still. So my plan was to take care of all of the stuff because I need to call the man that cuts the grass before I get lost in it. I looked out the window several times and just stood there shaking my head. No….it even looks hot out there.

So instead, I went to this little country restaurant down the street and picked up dinner. Gedney’s is a family owned restaurant and they have a little bit of everything. What I really like there is they have a good buffet dinner during the day and on Thursday and Sunday that dinner includes very good chicken and dressing. What is really nice is that for $8.99, I can get a to go plate and two dessert to go dishes and fill them just as full as they will get with whatever is out there. They don’t weigh the plates like some places do. Now, I’m not a big eater and I don’t stuff the plates but I do get enough that it feeds me lunch and dinner for two days. So $4.50 a day is about as cheap as you can eat anywhere for. Actually it’s cheaper than I could cook most things.

Today’s dinner includes chicken and dressing, giblet gravy, green beans, sweet potatoes, stewed zucchini and tomatoes, mashed potatoes, English peas, coleslaw and a small salad. Oh, and my favorite, fried green tomatoes. YUMMMMM! There was lots more to choose from, this is just what I brought home! lol I like a good variety, can you tell? I won’t eat that much of each thing at a time, so it will last a couple of days easily and I will still have left overs for the dogs. The ladies that cook there have been there for years and the food is excellent. I’ve never gotten anything that I would complain about.

Now my big plan for the rest of the day, since I’ve eaten a little of all that good food, is to pile up in the middle of the bed with about seven pillows, two fans blowing on me (to make sure the air conditioning flows perfectly at me) and a big screen television to watch and just relax. Well, I might peek out the window every now and then and look at all my stuff in the yard and make sure it didn’t put itself away.

 

5 responses

  1. I’m going to leave my own first comment because I was so lazy that I wrote the post, previewed it to make sure I didn’t make any glaring errors and then went and laid down. I got up a few minutes ago and checked the email and thought huh! That’s hurtful. No one read my post at all. wahhhh. Then I looked and realized I never actually posted it. Geeeezzzzz! Oh well. I had a good nap in the meantime! lol!

    June 28, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  2. I’m sorry? When did you say you posted this? On Thanksgiving? Cuz your food sure seems to indicate that.

    And now I’m drooling. Thanks a lot.

    I had things to do today, too, like unpack, do homework, fold laundry, brush my teeth… and I’ve done nuttin’. We totally should have hung out. I wish we could, too. (-:

    Emily Reese

    June 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    • Living alone has it’s advantages. Don’t have to cook or anything like that if I don’t want to and believe me I don’t want to anymore. I have Thanksgiving dinner a couple of times a week most weeks. It’s too good to pass up! I’ll save you a plate! Of course if I keep this up I’m going to look like the Thanksgiving turkey myself!

      It is so hot here in Alabama I woke up from my nap and it was 85 degrees in here in spite of the air conditioning and the fans. Of course I do live in a trailer so that doesn’t help.

      June 28, 2012 at 8:54 pm

  3. I wish I had a place like that close by. And I am hoping I will in a nearer future. Because I way to lazy to cook for myself, and when I go through the motions of cooking then often the food gets bad because I can’t manage to eat it before the decay sets in….

    June 29, 2012 at 4:20 am

    • That’s the biggest reason I don’t cook Irony. Too much goes to waste if I do. I really like to cook, but not just for myself. I spent a lifetime cooking for a big family and I don’t do well cooking for one! Besides that, I live in a trailer and it’s too hard to cool it off in here in the summer time to be turning the stove on.

      June 29, 2012 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

