People Are Who They Are!

New Life

I need to breathe some new life into my blog. Having started out in Vox, I found a family, so to speak, and have stayed in that realm since the beginning. However, that family has strayed, something that isn’t uncommon in real families. A lot of the people I started out communicating with have gone for different reasons and it’s almost depressing anymore. I have a handful of people to communicate with and to spend an hour writing and get one or two comments is frustrating. Those of you who are still around, I love you dearly, so don’t misinterpret this.

So, I’ve been spending a little while in the mornings grazing through other sites and trying to “drum up some business.” How frustrating is that! First of all, for those of you who are here and reading, if you want to increase your readership, you must add your blog site to your gravatar profile. It’s easy to do and it is the only way people can find you unless they just happen across your page, which is rare I think. As I read a new blog I look at the people who have “liked” that post and click on the ones that interest me. If that person doesn’t have their blog listed on the gravatar profile page then you just get an idea of who that person is and no way to find their blog. It is just a dead end at that point. So make sure your blog is listed there. Otherwise your circle cannot grow.

I also understand that I was gone for several months and some of the people who used to follow me on a regular basis probably stopped following me because of that. My bad. Sixty hours a week at work caused that and nothing I can do will change it. I’m back and would like to pick them back up but you can’t force the issue.

I am also looking for something specific to write about instead of so much personal stuff. This is a truly difficult task for me because I’m so inconsistent. I’ve been that way all of my life. One week I’m all about this and the next week I’m all about that. While that inconsistency has been my downfall in many ways, the upside of it is that I’ve done a lot of different things in my life.

I guess I just need a decent direction here. If you get out and look around, this site is huge and the subject matter is unending. So how do you decide on one area to write about? My interests are so varied. Lot’s to think about. I just know that I need to do something different so I can get more enjoyment and satisfaction out of the time I spend here and maybe if I can pull a few new people into our circle, the rest of you will find some new friends as well.

15 responses

  1. I am guilty of clearing out my Reader subscriptions if someone seems to have abandoned their blog. But I still got you!
    My blog is awfully varied, and I still somehow get traffic. Seems the blogosphere has been a bit quiet the past few weeks.
    I have found that you get more traffic, the more you post. Try and throw something up every day, if possible.

    July 5, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    • Well, see that’s exactly what I tried not to do is just throw something up there. I generally put a lot of thought into what I write and that’s what makes it frustrating. If I did just throw something up there, then I would expect there not to be in responses. The biggest thing is that so many of the thirty or forty people that I started out talking to on a regular basis are gone now for whatever reason and I think in order to get the new people coming in that I do need to breathe new life into this blog.

      Thanks for keeping me by the way! 🙂

      July 5, 2012 at 10:00 pm

  2. I made a concerted effort to post more at one point because that’s supposed to keep people interested and get more traffic. That only works, though, if what you post isn’t a bunch of uninteresting crap, which is actually what I ended up doing. That has more of a tendency to drive people away.

    I decided I was fine with the few and far between comments I get … but, in all honesty, I know how you feel. I am by no means a great talent, but when I spend time writing or “drawing” something that takes actual time and effort and get NO responses it is disheartening.

    July 5, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    • Yay! I’m glad you understand. It is. It’s like throwing a party and no one shows up! lol

      July 5, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • Sorry to butt in on the conversation, but that’s so sad! I love your drawings. Just so you know the reason I don’t comment more often is because I have a “chronology” of friends I’ve had since 2007 or so, and the oldest ones are the wheels who get the grease. Not that that’s all there is to it, they are extremely dear friends. But basically when I make new friends it’s exciting but it could take years to develop that friendship. I’m slow that way in real life too.

      July 6, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      • that was in reply to GOM. sorry.

        July 6, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      • I am guilty of reading many blogs but commenting on (seemingly) very few. Even people I’m ‘friendly’ with. Sometimes I just don’t have anything to say or add.

        July 6, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  3. I blog for me, a few friends along hte way, but mainly for me. If you want mroe people, they suggest you make your posts public, I keep mine private. The kids are always on me about doing something similar to that site about stuff my dad says, thinking I’m much more fun to read with all the nonsense I spew. I recently popped up with a few people I know on Twitter. That has been a mini-blogging platform for me. Easier to share when I have time, and the 140 word limit keeps it concise. I’m just glad you made it through the tough parts to actually sound boring. LOL. Life can be full of twists and turns and boring dialogue, just like a movie. Only thing is, it keeps running even when we need to take a break for some snacks. Take a few and re-invent yourself here. Perhaps, as one friend did, take the time to write snippets of memories. Really great times, really bad times, whatever hits you at the moment, just throw it out there. And if I misspell JUST one more time, this keyboard is going in the trash. LOL. I guess the rambling pointof all this is that if something has to end for something new to begin, look at it as a fresh page, waiting to be fileld with whatever your heart desires. Find your muse and share with us all. (((HUGS)))

    July 5, 2012 at 7:49 pm

  4. Awww, you’re so sweet K! I have a glitch in my keyboard that makes it do the craziest thing I’ve ever come across. Every time I type the letter y or the letter h, it throws the cursor to wherever the arrow is on the keyboard. So if the arrow is still pointing at the last place I had to correct because of the stupid glitch, it finishes typing wherever the arrow is sitting until I realize what happened and stop. Then I have to go back and delete the rest of the word or couple of words that are now in the middle of a sentence two lines above where I’m supposed to be at. Talk about wanting to throw the keyboard in the garbage! The bad thing about that is that this is a laptop so if the keyboard goes well……arggggg! (((HUGS))) back at ya!

    July 5, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  5. Blogging is a lot of work, isn’t it? Just keep posting what you like. They will come! 😉

    July 6, 2012 at 7:53 am

    • Yes it is a lot of work. That’s why it’s frustrating. Thanks for stopping by!

      July 8, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  6. You expressed this so well, Ladywise. I also lost many readers when I took a break. It takes a while to get that readership back and get into the groove again. I love that you’re trying to find a niche. That’s exciting. My blog is still evolving too.

    At first I wanted a strict science blog, but even I got bored with that. So I branched out into botany and farming, then sustainability, iced tea recipes, even sci fi and indie film. It doesn’t sound like it would work but it does especially when I find iced tea made from an unusual plant or something. It’s a matter of finding that synergy. I also like to reinvent the whole thing every once in a while. Believe it or not blogging also helped me find my direction in life and my career.

    I guess you go by what your dreams are, from what I’ve seen you write wonderful posts on farming, animals, raising kids and some social issues. But that’s just off the top of my head. I can’t wait to see what happens!

    July 6, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    • Oh thank you sweetie. That really gave me a boost that I desperately needed. I am really in a mental funk all the way around to be truthful, not just here. I do need a niche though. My mind just reels sometimes and I might think of twenty different things to blog about but I’ll talk myself out of every one of them for one reason or another. I think if I have a specific niche of some sort, I’ll do much better. I’m a planner. Very OCD and I need my thoughts together when I sit down to write. I also really enjoy researching and learning so if I have a niche that I have to do a little research or something to write for, then I think I’ll be more satisfied. Thanks so much for responding tonight.

      July 6, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  7. louiseinskottorp

    I am still here, in silence…

    July 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    • Thanks Louise, it’s nice to know you are still here.

      July 8, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

