People Are Who They Are!

A Drabble for GOM

She spent days jotting down notes preparing to write the story. It was the chance of a lifetime and she wanted desperately to make a good impression. “You can do this!” she told herself. The subject matter was strong and she was sure it would be well received.

She began to type. After an hour she sat back and read it. “It’s awesome!” she screamed out loud.

Outside the house the storm raged. Bolts of lightning lit up the night sky, then without warning, lit up her house. In a matter of minutes it was all over. Everything was gone.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Alright GOM. That was fun. lol I know you are supposed to put the heading and everything on it but I’m experimenting per your suggestion, so I didn’t make it official.

I’ve actually spent hours ranting about what to do with the blog and it was storming here last night pretty bad. The storms always make me nervous living in a trailer so that little drabble thingy seemed fitting.

I’ve started making lists in order to get some perspective on what to do with the blog. I have lists of things I like, things I don’t like, things I’ve done, things I’ve experienced and so forth. I’ve been to quite a few new blog sites to see what other people who have larger followings, or just enjoyable sites, are doing.

I found one guy who had been writing his blog for a couple of years. He had a pretty good following and generally got a couple of hundred responses to good posts. He’s a locally known body builder so he had a pretty good following. He had written a post talking about being angry about the way companies market so much junk food to kids and how he felt it contributed to unhealthy eating habits. While I totally agreed with what he wrote, I didn’t think the post was that great. However, it hit a nerve in people and he had gone from a couple of hundred responses normally to over 10,000 responses on that post. I read a follow up post he wrote the next day about it and he was stunned. I guess I would have been too.

One thing I’ve found while reading a lot of posts is that there are a lot of people that go around hitting the “like” button on hundreds of posts that I’m sure they never actually read just to drive traffic back to their own site. I would never do that and don’t like that others do it. It seems to me like a way of cheating. Just getting a couple of “likes” is almost as disheartening as not getting any response at all. I understand if someone normally comments and then is busy one day and just wants to let you know they read it and liked it and they don’t have time that day for more than that. That’s acceptable. But to use it as a form of advertisement for their site, I just didn’t think it was appropriate.

Well, that’s my update for now. I’m at least on the road to figuring something out.

8 responses

  1. Good job. And it is fun once you get used to it. They’re not all “gold,” but every little step helps.

    And as far as I know, there are no real rules. I ‘tag’ mine (if I remember) and put “Drabble” in the title mainly as a ‘dig’ at a friend of mine who says she doesn’t like them (because I write too many morbid things, I guess) … but I don’t think that’s required.

    Oh … and “SAVE” is your friend … lol.

    July 8, 2012 at 11:12 am

    • Thanks GOM. I figured the tags were a link back to something. That’s good. I’ll just call them a drabble like I did this one when I write them. And I’ll remember to save them. lol

      July 8, 2012 at 11:25 am

  2. I want you to know if I hit the “Like” button I’ve read each and every word. Why do it if it’s completely irrelevant? In time, bloggers can figure out people like that. I’m sure I have a few.
    GOM is right about the “SAVE” button.
    Read about effective tagging by WordPress. It’ll help you when people are searching for subject matter. They really do search the tags.
    Keep writing.
    Peace,
    Alexandria

    July 8, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    • I appreciate that Alexandria. I just thought it was rude. Don’t you? I’ve actually been looking at the tagging because it’s something I am definitely not good at right now. Thanks for the advice. Thanks for following me too.

      July 8, 2012 at 2:42 pm

  3. I loved your story!! Sometimes these Drabbles can come to look formulated and yours was refreshingly spontaneous.

    Having tons of readers can be a double-edged sword. You can almost guarantee it if you post about politics, dieting, which celebrity you hate, etc, but you’ll also be flooded with shallow, inauthentic people who just enjoy a good argument. Not fun. I posted one time about a Vox issue and I got almost 100 comments. Then people were pissed when I closed the comments and they sent me angry emails!

    I SO agree with you about the Like button. I do it to save posts that I love to death and want to read over and over. That happens……rarely. Very rarely. People do hit that button for cheap attention or because they want to look like they left a comment. It’s annoying. GOF also pointed out that people’s comments often reflect the fact that they obvioiusly scanned the post or just read the first sentence. He’s right, how phony.

    I had one guy from “Daily Advice” post this comment” “Interesting! Please come to my website. http://www.blahblahblah.com“. LOL!

    I love reading about your process of finding the right themes. Thanks!

    July 10, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  4. I love your comments! I’ve got a pretty good idea of what I want to do with the blog and I’m working on it.

    I use the like button that way too. I thought that was what it was supposed to be used for. I’m just a stickler about etiquette and the written word. I’m an old typesetter and proofreader and have been using computers for communication in some aspect or another for thirty six years. It’s manners I guess. That’s a lot of why I’m friends with most of the people I’m friends with now because they have good manners. I have a thing against unsolicited sales too. Anyway… lol

    July 11, 2012 at 1:25 am

  5. I will type “Like Button” here so that you officially know that I’ve read it. (-:

    I suppose I should look into more ways to get readership of my blog, but I guess I don’t care enough. My blog is kind of a special niche so I don’t suppose I would get lots of general followers. I like reading yours, though, and I appreciate that you’ve taken an interest in mine.

    I will also type “Save” along with tying a piece of yarn around my crooked pinky finger. I need to be reminded of that more often, too.

    Emily Reese

    July 11, 2012 at 3:39 pm

  6. Thanks Emily, I’m glad you like my blog. Those special niche blogs like yours are exactly what people are looking for. They, or I, don’t want to read the same old things all the time. The big things you have are honesty and realism, something people can relate to. Everyone is dealing with divorce one way or the other, whether it is their own or somebody’s that’s close to them. You talk about an amicable divorce and that’s something a lot of people strive for and maybe they can learn something from you. That’s awesome.

    Yes, please do “save”. Nothing worse than loosing something you’ve been writing on for half an hour. I’ve done it more than once!

    July 11, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

