People Are Who They Are!

Remodeled…No Not Me

I have worked way more the last two weeks than I normally do and I am pooped! I finally am off for the next three days and I am so thankful! They brought a team in and remodeled our store over the last two weeks. Of course we all had to help and everything was in an uproar for a while. The remodel is finished though and everything is put back in it’s place and it looks great. Things have pretty much gotten back to normal except, we have to stay open an hour later than we did before which is ludicrous in this small town. They roll the sidewalks in at 8:00 and they’ve got us staying open until 10:00 now instead of nine. The only people out that late in this town are the criminals. Yay! Let’s make sure we’re opened for them.

The store really is much nicer. All the fixtures were replaced and we got new coolers. Most everyone is happy about it…except the old people. The really old people have fussed at me all week long. They are upset that everything was moved around and they want it put back! They’ve been very verbal about it and it’s comical to a point. After a while, and being tired, it’s starts to loose it’s humor. It takes a whole lot of patience to work retail and mine runs thin sometimes, especially when I’m as tired as I am tonight.

15 responses

  1. Isn’t it amazing how resistant we all are (and especially the oldsters) to change? In another two weeks they will all be delighted with the way things are. For now it will be *bitch bitch bitch*
    Enjoy your days off. I am in day 6 of 7 and I really need some days off, too!

    July 15, 2012 at 4:33 am

    • Yes it is amazing how resistant we are. I’m having my own issues with some of the changes, I guess that’s part of why it’s bothering me that they are bitching so bad. lol

      Those long stretches of work are really taxing on me anymore. I used to could do it with no problem but anymore it gets to me. I hope you get a day off soon.

      July 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • Yes, you oldsters … never mind …

      July 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

      • Yes, we know you are a spring chicken GOM…lol

        July 15, 2012 at 10:18 am

  2. I remember when they remodelled the bookstore where I worked it was exhausting. So stressful for everyone.

    July 15, 2012 at 5:45 am

  3. Yes, this has been stressful for everyone. We have a really good team in place in that store and everyone is very routine so having everything in an uproar has been very taxing on us all. I’m the oldest one there so I get to whine the loudest! lol

    July 15, 2012 at 9:50 am

  4. The big news in my small town is that they just built a brand spanking new Dollar General store. And for once they didn’t cheap out! It was opened yesterday (even though only about 3/4 full) and it’s actually a nice store … and fairly big for our small town.

    July 15, 2012 at 10:51 am

  5. The new ones are definitely nice. Ours looks new now which is really nice since I always close and have to clean up. It actually looks clean when I leave now. I like that. They are good stores. The company keeps it’s prices at or below Walmart prices and we carry a little bit of everything. My customers tell me all the time that they come there to avoid having to go to Walmart. We don’t have much else in town to choose from other than the two. You’ll like it I’m sure.

    July 15, 2012 at 11:37 am

  6. I still haven’t forgiven Costco for moving the peanut butter, and that was over a year ago… ;o) So glad you got some time off! And I agree, it’s crazy when some corporate far off office makes decisions like hours for a local store like yours. Reminds me a lot of what goes on in education. Sheesh.

    July 16, 2012 at 12:23 am

    • That’s funny! Don’t move the peanut butter! Yes, these people, poor things, are so upset over this move. I had a guy in there last night fussing. It will go on for a while I’m sure!

      July 19, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  7. 10:00 seems so late to still be open.
    Hope you manage to catch up on some rest.

    July 17, 2012 at 9:07 am

  8. Glad you’re getting some time off, my friend. You work too hard. They’re lucky to have you. I know some people are resistent to change, others may be jealous that you get so much work done…….

    July 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    • I slept through about half of the three days I had off. Couldn’t take it! lol Thanks for the compliments Amelie. I appreciate that.

      July 19, 2012 at 3:07 pm

  9. I forgot to ask, did you get my email?

    July 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  10. Yes I did, but I had to go hunt it down. I don’t know how I missed it but I did. Of course the fact that I have 2500 emails in my inbox probably made it a little more difficult. I have you saved as a contact now so that won’t happen again! lol

    July 19, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

