People Are Who They Are!

Forked Up!

OMG! My brother called me at 6:30 this morning and said he had been on the phone all night with his son. His son D is thirty two and has a son of his own T that is not quite two years old. D’s wife works at night and D takes care of his son while she is at work. Apparently, D was making dinner for T and himself last night and T was already in the high chair waiting. The one thing I hear consistently about T is that he is an eating machine. We said that about his grand daddy, my brother, when he was young and T’s daddy D was the same way when he was young. Anyway, D stepped into the kitchen to do something and T stood up in the high chair and reached for a fork that was on the table. He got it and then fell with it in his hand and the fork stabbed him in the throat. D rushed him to the emergency room and they flew him to Egleston Children’s Hospital in Atlanta. He’s alright but apparently they were worried that the fork had penetrated the esophagus so they were watching him and running tests. How scary that must have been. I’m still getting the willies just thinking about it!

I’m sure T is scared and I know he’s the one that got hurt, but I really feel worse for D. He’s a good daddy and does a lot of the care taking for that baby. That was just one of those split second accidents that happen but D is really upset. My brother said he felt really bad for him and I do too.

After my brother told me about it, we got to laughing about all the different things that happened when we were kids and when our own kids were young. It’s funny how things seem so dramatic when they are happening and then they can seem so comical when you tell the stories later. This one will definitely go down in “the good story book”. I can hear it now, “Well my son fell and stuck a fork in the side of his throat and got to ride in the helicopter to the big hospital in Atlanta…and he never shed a tear.” lol

I’ll keep you updated when I hear something else but they said he was fine. Poor baby.

6 responses

  1. Well, glad the little boy is okay. That’s pretty scary, because there are a lot of things that could go terribly wrong when stabbed in the throat area by something. And I can understand why the dad would be upset, but … yeah, kids are going to be kids.

    July 20, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    • Yep, that’s what I said. Kids are kids and they can fall with you standing there watching them. He’s supposed to get to come home this evening so he’s doing good.

      July 20, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    • Oh by the way, that would make a good drabble don’t you think? lol

      July 20, 2012 at 2:31 pm

  2. Holy crap — I would have been scared to death. What a bizarre series of events — it’s like something out of a movie. So glad that he’s okay.

    July 20, 2012 at 1:53 pm

  3. Isn’t that bizarre! I just heard a little while ago that he actually scooped him up with the fork still sticking out of his throat and drove him to the hospital himself. My brother said that the nurses and everyone in the emergency room gathered around trying to see how bad they thought it was and T reached up and snatched the fork out before anyone could stop him. Freaky!

    July 20, 2012 at 2:31 pm

  4. Glad he’s okay. I’ve actually heard some scary stories with kids, one kid ran with a toothbrush in his mouth, fell and it was lodged in his throat. Really awful. But he was just fine, kids are so reslillent. Not even close on the scary scale, but I stubbornly tried to get the plastic off a kool aid package with a fork, and it slipped. Went right through the muscle between my index and thumb. (Steve would know what that muscle is called, I can never remember).

    July 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Leave a Reply

