People Are Who They Are!

Picture Perfect!

Mom was our rock. She was everything to us and always had been. She had been both mom and dad to us all of our lives. Even after she married Clarence, she was still the dad too. He was too kind and softhearted to discipline anyone. It was her we feared. It was her we looked up to. It was her we confided in. Everything revolved around her.

 She was the epitome of beauty. Her five-foot frame had never lost its shapeliness even after giving birth five times. We measured her once playing around and she measured a perfect 36-24-36. Her hair was always in place, yet the style was ever changing. She had, after all been a beautician when she was younger. Now as I watched her wither away I was angry. I never dreamed she would even be sick, let alone suffering with this terrible disease, this cancer. She didn’t deserve this. She had been through enough in her lifetime.

FD did a post on a 1955 show called “A Word to the Wives” and watching it reminded me of mom. A lot of things remind me of mom. I miss her. I’m not trying to get all sappy on you, I just love this picture of her. Most of my memories, most of what I write about her is inspired by this picture and I don’t think I’ve ever had it on the computer before so I wanted to share it with you. This is the only “studio” portrait taken of mom by herself. She was forty one and had given birth to five children when this was taken. She dressed neatly and fixed herself up almost every day…picture perfect, like the women in the show. This picture was taken about 1970 but she was coming of age in the early 50’s when that show was made and that was the way she thought things should be…picture perfect. You can see it in the photo.

There’s a picture taken the same day of my youngest sister. Mom went to have these made because she wanted a picture of my sister. At two years old, her hair was already down to her butt and it was extremely thick and beautiful. Mom, being a beautician, loved it. She spent all morning the day of the picture piling and pinning my sister’s hair on top of her head. It was gorgeous when she was done and my sister was a passive enough child for the hair do to survive getting to the studio to make the pictures. The truth be known, Mom probably added a half a can of hairspray to the mix that helped too.  My sister has the picture of herself so I couldn’t add it.

The reason I got excited was this is an 11″ x 14″ framed picture and I took it out of the frame and took a picture of it with my camera and saved it to the computer. It turned out awesome. So I’m going to do that with a bunch of my family photos. I haven’t had a scanner for a long time and just haven’t thought about using my camera. Duh!

6 responses

  1. Your mom was a truly beautiful woman.
    I was sad for you when I read your post.
    Love the photo idea, I dont have a scanner either, going to try doing what you did too 🙂
    *Hugs*

    July 26, 2012 at 4:28 am

  2. Thank you HH. I appreciate that.

    July 26, 2012 at 5:18 am

  3. I’ve done that, too, right out of the scrapbook. It’s the easiest way to digitize your old photos. They come out pretty good!

    July 26, 2012 at 11:59 am

    • I guess I just never thought about it. It did turn out good though.

      July 27, 2012 at 10:05 am

  4. I am sorry I missed this while I was ill last week. You Mum was so beautiful! She looks such a kind woman.

    July 30, 2012 at 4:05 am

  5. Knowing that back then there wasn’t much of Photoshop I would imagine that’s exactly what she looked like – where are the wrinkles around the eyes??! *mock expiration (? not quite sure about the spelling – ahem)*
    If you wouldn’t have mentioned that it was made in the 70’s I would have actually guessed it to taken in the 60’s. How funny…

    August 21, 2012 at 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

